DWI is a serious criminal charge in Texas that is most commonly a misdemeanor. However, when DWI involves the serious injury or fatality of another person due to an accident, you can be charged with intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter. These are felony charges that can result in severe penalties. In these cases, you may be charged with both DWI and intoxication assault or manslaughter at the same time.
Because of the grave nature of these charges, it is imperative that you turn to a trusted and experienced DWI defense lawyer. At The Law Office of RC Pate, you will find a highly-qualfied attorney with more than a decade of professional experience, including time spent as a prosecutor. This means that RC Pate thoroughly understands how the other side operates in pursuing a conviction. His insight into both the prosecution and the defense of DWI-related charges is invaluable in serving clients.
Arrange for a free case evaluation with our San Antonio intoxication assault and manslaughter attorney at The Law Office of RC Pate by contacting us online or at (210) 757-4373.
Both intoxication assault and intoxication manslaughter are defined under Texas Penal Code Chapter 49.
Intoxication assault consists of the following elements:
- Operating a vehicle on a public road
- Driving while intoxicated due to alcohol and/or drugs
- Causing an accident that results in serious injuries to someone else
Under the law, a serious injury consists of “a substantial risk of death” or one that causes “serious permanent disfigurement or protracted loss or impairment” of a body organ or member.
This offense is charged as a third-degree felony punishable by two to 10 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000. On a first offense, you will lose your license for 90 days up to a year. Subsequent convictions can result in losing your license for up to two years. You may also be required to do community service for up to 1,000 hours and complete an alcohol/drug education program.