San Antonio Second Offense DWI Lawyer
When arrested for a DWI in Texas, the court will investigate your past driving record to see if you have prior DWI convictions. Your entire driver history can be reviewed in this way turning a new DWI arrest into a repeat offense. Repeat DWIs, such as second offenses, are taken even more seriously and can result in harsher penalties than a first offense.
If you have been arrested for a second-offense DWI in San Antonio, your first action should be to enlist the help of a proven DWI defense lawyer. At The Law Office of RC Pate, we understand the stress you are under and the high stakes of repeat offenses. Our attorney can put well over a decade of experience to work for you; that experience includes conducting many trials as both a former prosecutor as well as a defense lawyer. Furthermore, RC Pate knows how to challenge the elements of DWI, including the blood science involved in chemical testing.
Get advice and guidance about your case in a free initial consultation with our San Antonio second offense DWI attorney. Call The Law Office of RC Pate at (210) 757-4373 or contact us online.
Second Offense DWI Charges in Texas
Second DWI offenses are charged as a Class A misdemeanor. Once you are charged with this offense, you need to post bond to be released from jail. Depending on the circumstances of your case, bonds can range from $2,000 up to $5,000. After being released on bond, you will be required to install and maintain an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
Second DWI offenses are subject to the following penalties:
- 30 days of jail time; a 5-day minimum if you are granted probation
- Probation of up to 24 months
- A fine of up to $4,000
- License suspension of 180 days up to two years
- Installation and use of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle
Additionally, when under probation, you may be ordered to perform community service hours as well as complete alcohol/substance abuse education, assessment, treatment, or counseling.